Recycled Plant Pots and Tomato Cages

Last spring I attended the Tompkins County Cornell Cooperative Extension’s Compost Fair.  It was a great learning experience and a good time.   Not only did they have composting exhibits, but they also had several bins of plastic plant pots.  I was really impressed.  There was a great selection of six packs, four packs, and everything else.  Anyone could stop by and pick up what they needed or drop off anything they no longer needed.  So when I stopped by a local garden store and saw they also had a “recycling center” Initially impressed, but then started to question their motives because inside they sell new plant pots and potting materials. I wondered what they were doing with the bin of pots that people had dropped off to “recycle”.  I will have to ask when I stop in again.  I was pulling our recycling last week and realized I was recycling possible plant pots.  I have started to collect plastic containers to use for seedlings.

The start of my plant pot collection

I think I will make a self-watering container or two with these

I also started working on a tomato cage.  I will need to pick up a couple of more pallets if this plan works well.

One leg of the tomato cage. You can see the other legs waiting to be trimmed up.

This is a pretty steep cut. Once sunk into the ground it will be pretty strong.

What are you doing to prepare for this upcoming gardening season?  How do you “recycle” materials to save money and resources?

On a side note, I received an email from Mother Earth News this week about vertical gardening and trellises. Here is the link if you would like to read more about it www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/vertical-gardening-zm0z10zhun.aspx

As we look forward to more snow this week, and Groundhog day.  Stay warm.

Leave a Reply

