A New Beginning

I want to wish you and your family a happy Thanksgiving.  Here at Cohocton River Rock Micro Farm are celebrating with family, friends, and fresh vegetables. Although, I might have to use a pick-axe to get the parsnips and carrots out of the garden. The temperatures have plummeted over the weekend.  I heard today it is the coldest since February.  It really feels like we are in the deep freeze.  I will be able to keep things “refrigerated” outside over the next few days.

Those last few tasks around the farm I did not get down will have to wait for a warm day.

Today, I started working on my garden plan for next spring.

The beginning

The beginning

Tomorrow I expect to receive my first seed order for next year.  I could not hold back, all the seeds were half price.  Now begins the process of trying to fit everything in.  Before I begin my plan I create several guidelines or rules.  First, Nothing is grown in the same bed as last year.  Second, plan for succession planting. Third, tall things in the back or closest to the house.  With those rules in place I plan my garden out.

  1. I may sound easy, but it never is.  Also, a good plan is made to be changed.  I have not followed any of my plans to the exact detail.  With out a plan though I am not as efficient and end with seven rows tomatoes.

What are your plans?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

One response to “A New Beginning

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you! Yesterday I got hooping supplies to protect my sages and succulents out front. We had our car windshield freeze a few times so it’s time to protect the plants. The water is 53 in the bay and we’ve been swimming 3-4 times a week. Refreshing! :-). Love to you!, Laurey and family

    >

Leave a Reply

