It has begun

Today is a snowy, cold, and windy day here. 22 degrees on the thermometer with a wind chill making it feel 8 degrees. While the ground is frozen hard I have been thinking about spring.

The traditional garden “chilling” out. Some garlic volunteers popped up last fall. I thought they were a failed experiment from Spring 2010. However, they popped up last fall. I can not wait to see what happens.

The berry patch under snow and straw. I am looking forward to strawberries and raspberries this summer.

There is garlic planted under straw and pine bows.

I was reading Crockett’s Victory Garden a couple of nights ago and James Crockett mentioned January was the month to get projects done before the weather warms up, because soon the garden will be demanding lots of time.

Inspired by his words I began ordering my seeds. I get so excited by this time of year, the promise of good things to come inspires me and gets me motivated.

I created a garden plan. I rotated most of the crops from last year. Compost will be laid on top of all gardens. I am also planning on creating at least two new beds. Two beds will be for trellised cucumbers and peas. You will not see those beds in my garden plan, because they are recent additions. The current plan is to put them on the South side of the garden where they will receive plenty of sun but not shade any of the other gardens.

Your thoughts and advice are encouraged.

Your thoughts and advice are encouraged. Below is a list of my seed inventory. You can see the varieties that I have and plan to use this upcoming year.

I “Googled” garden quotes and found this website www.quotegarden.com/gardens.html. While reading the great quotes I came across some of my favorites. A new quote spoke to me.

When weeding, the best way to make sure you are removing a weed and not a valuable plant is to pull on it.  If it comes out of the ground easily, it is a valuable plant.” Author Unknown.

How often in the Spring when young plants are coming out of the ground have I questioned myself, wondering if I planted this plant or did Mother Nature. Well, as my preparations have begun, I hope yours have as well.

Stay warm.

Leave a Reply

