New Arrivals

Last week I submitted my seed order.  The new arrivals arrived in the mail only a few days later.  It was very exciting to open the mailbox and see it packet full.  The new arrivals include two new varieties of peppers.  I used all my pepper seeds last summer and ended up having to buy seedlings.  The new types are Johnny’s Yankee Bell and Ethnic Sweet Biscayne.  Last season I also used a lot of tomato seeds.  I decided to purchase Johnny’s Juliet tomato, it is a sauce or what I think of a Roma style tomato.  I found my family used tomatoes in sauces and salsas so I am hoping to save time simmering my sauces down.  I am planning on putting Johnny’s Genovese Basil between each tomato plant this upcoming season.  I will be growing Dill this year for the first time.  I was given a packet of cucumber seeds for Christmas so I thought having some dill  would be good for pickles. My final Johnny’s purchase is a packet of Shelling Peas.  My family decided we really enjoyed peas this past year so I thought fresh peas would be better than frozen.  I am hoping we can freeze some of our own for use in Chicken Pot Pies next Winter.

I made one purchase from Burpee.  Burpee sells carrot seeds in “seed tape.”  I tried this last summer and it was so easy that I decided to use it again.  The carrots variety is Nantes Half Long.  We ate them so quickly I knew I would plant them again this year.

The new arrival seed packets

I borrowed two books from my local library recently.  The more practical book is Great Garden Companions by Sally Jean Cunningham.  She does a nice job of making suggestions about how to create a diverse environment in your garden.  I read this book last summer when it was a bit late to make changes, but decided I wanted to implement some changes this summer.  So now I am skimming it to decide what changes I will attempt this summer.

The second book is more philosophical and/or practical on a larger sense.  The Unsettling of America Culture and Agriculture by Wendell Berry. In just a few pages Berry makes a compelling argument.  I am encouraged to continue to develop my organic gardening/farming skills and knowledge.

This next I will be working on building a couple of cold frames and tomato cages.

Stay warm.

3 thoughts on “New Arrivals

  1. Not sure if you already have plans on those tomato cages but Steve made some great ones quite a few years ago and I’m still using them. They’re simply made from sheep wire looped around to make a tube. He cut little “windows” in them for harvesting and that’s it! I think they will last me much longer than my 2 wooden ones. I need to get my seed order in the mail! Good reminder!

    1. I really appreciate your reading and commenting on my blog. I have thought about using a wire product in a tube fashion. I try to garden cheaply, and I have access to free wooden pallets. I tear the pallets apart for lumber, and I use this “cheap” lumber (some of it is really not great wood for anything else) to build garden implements. In the future I will post about the compost bins I have made from pallets. I enjoy re-claiming the pallets. Lots of work for not much, but at least they are being used for something instead of being burned or trashed. Are you ordering anything new this year?

  2. That’s funny, Steve gave me some pallets to make a compost bin from as well! I love it. Reclaimed is always the way to go if you ask me, I saw a roll of chicken wire at the dump this week… of course, “NO PICKING!” Grrr, I am going to attempt celery this year, which is iffy around here according to people I’ve talked to. But, I bought some at Alholm’s this past summer and it was great.

Leave a Reply

