Rockin’, sod, and garlic

On Saturday my friends Dylan and Tyler came to help me work on the “Micro Farm.”  They live in the city most of the time and look forward to being outside and working.  We worked on a project that I started last summer.  We went to a neighbor’s field and picked up rocks.  We put them in 5 gallon buckets and loaded them into my truck and  brought them back and put them down in the berry patch.  After two trips and 28 buckets we were all pretty tired, but we had a good day.

The three of us with a load of rocks.
Here we are placing the rocks between the berry patches
The results of our work. A few more rocks will finish the project.

The rest of the week was mostly cutting sod.  I was able to get one bed completed and about half of another bed completed.

The square garden about half way done.
The circle garden done, with the sod pile, and compost bins

This week I need to finish cutting the sod off the square garden.  I have been composting for over a year. Somewhere under the top layer of brush and food scraps there is compost ready for the garden, I just have to find it.  After the compost is added I will add some peat moss, and rototil. Then I will put the cut sod into the compost bins.  I must feel ambitious this week.

I took a short break from cutting sod, and looked for signs of life in the garlic patch.

The garlic poking up through the straw

After a long cold winter I was curious to see how well the garlic held up.  This is my first year growing garlic and I was not sure if I protected them enough.  I felt encouraged when I saw a few green stalks poking up.

I recently joined a garden blog website called Blotanical.com.  If you are looking for what regular people are doing in your area Blotanical is a very good resource. Becky, who writes stonewallgarden.blogspot.com, is also from Upstate NY and helped me identify my favorite garden tool, pictured in last week’s post.  It is called a grub hoe.

I hope you are all getting ready for the gardening season.  I have a sense that gardening activities will be increasing as the days and weeks move along.  I hope you too are anticipating fresh and home-grown fruits in vegetables.

Stay warm.

6 thoughts on “Rockin’, sod, and garlic

    1. Thanks for reading Alison. I am enjoying watching the seedlings grow, but I am excited to put them into the ground. Spring is especially welcomed, around here , this year.

  1. I am also creating lots of new beds for my little herb farm and have lots of sod like you. I’m creating a ‘turf stack’ – placing the sod grass-side down in a pile and then covering it with a tarpaulin. In a year or so (fingers crossed) it should become a lovely pile of garden loam that I can use in my own potting mix.

    1. Hello Pen. This is my second year cutting sod out for my regular beds. Last year I had a turf stack and covered it with a blue plastic tarp. These tarps are ubiquitous in the US. My tarp covered stack got about 8 to 10 hours of sun, and last year we had a very hot summer. I waited to October to move the soil. I was worried it might not be broken down yet. However, I was really wrong. It was probably done around August. I used a grub hoe and “chopped” up everything. It was so dry that everything crumbled. It was great. There were chunks of grass in it, the larger chunks went into my regular compost bin, and the smaller stuff just went into the garden for the winter. Good luck with your turf stack. I think if you get a lot of sun or not much sun it will work? Are you thinking about keeping it wet or just letting it be? If I had thought more about it, I would have put my stack over a place were I would make a bed for the next year because all the grass is dead under the stack.

Leave a Reply

