Sowed and Transplanted

I had a lot of fun working the farm this week.  The weather was sunny and warm. While working I would take a few seconds and look around at the rolling hills, the trees, and the farm.  I enjoyed the beauty around me.  When I looked at the beds full of soil, I would imagine them in full bloom and lush with plants.  It looked great.

I needed my imagination less and less help as the week progressed.  The peas popped up out of the soil on Thursday, a very welcomed sign.  A few of the strawberries flowered.  The raspberries are filling out with leaves and growing stronger.  The chives are soon to flower, and the rhubarb keeps…”rhubarbing”.

With the rock supply going away in a week or two we have been trying to get as many rocks as possible and making sure we won’t need more.  We collected about 30 to 40 buckets last week.

The "square garden" left and center, the herb garden right, the pea trellis in the middle back, and the berry batch in the very back

The "circle garden back, and the cuke garden right

I was not planning on bordering all the gardens in rocks this year, but we took the opportunity.   I think they look good, and when I can get out and  weed-wack around them the entire area will look better.  Plans can change so quickly when you garden.  All but the berry patch and herb gardens are completely new this year.  I am very excited about these changes and I look forward to what the summer will bring.

In the square garden you may have seen the two rows of straw.  This week I was able to get my two walking paths put into the garden.  I use a layer of newspaper underneath a layer straw.

The left row is completed and the right row only awaits straw

The square garden has three beds that are approximately five feet wide.  The walking paths are one foot wide. This configuration allows my to reach the middle of the bed fairly easily. To make the paths I started by running string outlining each walking path.  Then I place newspaper down to block the weeds and grass from coming up.  Then I used my watering can to get the newspaper wet.  It was a breezy day so the wind would have blown the paper all over the neighborhood.  Then I pitchforked the straw on the newspaper and removed the strings.

A recommendation if you are thinking of using this method in your garden.  Make sure to buy straw instead of hay.   A contractor friend of mine shared straw has the seed heads cut off and hay does not.  My local garden center’s straw has some seeds but not to many.

The great garlic transplant.

Earlier this spring I learned were our actual property lines were, our entire neighborhood was surprised.  I am slowly moving what was on the wrong side of the line.  I moved the garlic first.  I moved about 25 to 30 plants. They did show some signs of stress, wilted and yellowing leaves, but this week is supposed to be overcast or raining and warm.  I am hoping this weather will help them adapt to their new home.

One of my goals over the past few years is to improve my skills as a succession gardener.  My family really enjoyed the carrots I grew last year so I thought this would be a great place to improve my succession skills.  I planted two rows on Friday and hope to keep adding two rows for the next few weeks. I grow Nantes Half Long, recommended by Victory Garden author James Underwood Crockett when growing in rocky soil. I have heard how hard it is to plant these tiny seeds, so when I saw Burpee’s carrot seed tape I bought some.  Using the seed tape make carrot planting very easy.

Two rows of carrots planted. You can see the seed tape of the row on top.

Here is a panoramic shot of the entire Micro Farm

Weather forecasts show rain for most of the week. I think getting outside work done difficult.  I will see how much of the to do list I can get done.

Have a great week.  Enjoy some fresh vegetables. Stay warm.

10 responses to “Sowed and Transplanted

  1. The garden looks great! Maine is getting drenched. It started raining this past Saturday and is forecasted to rain until Friday – so 2 weeks behind schedule for us here.

  2. I like your beds edged in rocks. Looks nice. Glad you enjoyed working the garden with such nice weather, and that you took time to enjoy the beauty. Something we often forget to do.

  3. Everything looks great Spencer! The walking path is a great idea!

  4. Thanks for stopping by my site, and for the encouragement on the tomatillos. I’ve never grown them before and am really hoping they do well. Your garden (microfarm!) looks so well organized. I’m crossing my fingers that the plants you moved do well.

    • Tomatillos are so great. I think they do well even in spite of me. I am confident yours will be great. Thanks for your compliments. I think you will see my organization slowly fade away as our summer progresses. My trans-plants seem to be doing ok this week. I, too, hope they make it.

  5. Oooh what do you think of the carrot seed tape? I have always wanted to try that! I’m interested to see how your carrots grow. I was just out in my garden trying to thin out the seeds I planted, but ended up pulling out more than I wanted!

    • Hi Stacy. I used it last year, and that was my first year growing carrots. I did not thin last year, that I can remember, because I really hate thinning. Since it was my first year I don’t think I knew what a good row should look like. My guess is that their is less thinning with the seed tape. I also would guess there is less thinning loss because the seeds are fairly pre-positioned and spaced out compared to doing it by hand, especially my hand. I found some at Home Depot for about three dollars if you would like to try this year.

Leave a Reply

