Pollinators, peas, planting, and optimism

“Never yet was a springtime, when the buds forgot to bloom.”

Margaret Elizabeth Sangster

The weather has made farming this year difficult, regardless of what part of the world you live in.  When I saw my strawberries flower last week, I was concerned that they may not be pollinated with all the rain.  However, the buds have not forgotten to bloom.

 After the tragic week in Joplin, Missouri and the other tragic weather this Spring, I am profoundly impressed how nature and humanity responds.  People will re-build.  People desire to return things back to normal.  Plants will re-grow and re-claim land and soil.  Plants and people will not forget to bloom amidst these difficult times.

When I went out to the garden and looked at my strawberries I was struck by how nature will not be stopped.

The berries are coming. Strawberry shortcake is in my dreams.

The peas have been growing nicely, and today I stretched the tallest ones toward the trellis today.  By the end of the week they should all be climbing the trellis.

Peas just reaching the trellis

I was able to catch a couple of bees pollinating the red raspberry flowers.  I am really excited to see so many flowers.  There is also lots of great young growth.  I was able to tie off the older growth so, hopefully, the berries will be easier to get too this year.

Bee doing its work.
Going after the good stuff.

Yesterday I was able to plant most of my seeds.  I planted 12 rows of corn, four rows of lettuce (mostly pre-mixed greens), dill, cilantro, lemon balm, basil, oregano, and four rows of carrots.

The herb garden. Cilantro, dill, oregano, basil, and lemon balm.
The mixed greens and lettuce.

The onions I had planted are coming up strong.  Now that most of the other seeds are in I will be filling in the spaces with onions. I still have a lot of sets left over.

A few rows of the onions coming up.

On Monday evening I think I will put in all the transplants.  We are expecting hot temperatures for a few days and then back to normal, but with lots of sun.  Once everything is put in I will need to focus on weeding.  I fight small weeding battles sporadically but I really need to get into a better schedule.

I hope you are able to enjoy some time off during the Memorial Day weekend. Stay cool.

 

4 thoughts on “Pollinators, peas, planting, and optimism

Leave a Reply

