Catalog Your Resolutions

Time moves strangely, I find it hard to believe 2012 is only a week old.  2012 feels a little more worn in, like my favorite blue jeans.  Although 2012 feels worn in the Winter weather it has brought has been confusing.  Forty degree weather and not snow is not typical.  I am now curious about what the Spring and Summer will bring.

Going to the mailbox has been fun the past couple of weeks. In addition to the catalogs I received before Christmas I received a catalog from Burpee, Harris Seeds, and Fedco.

My Harris Seeds and Fedco Seed Catalogs

Reading through the catalogs has been really fun.  There are differences in each, although sometimes the first time those differences are harder to find.  The Fedco catalog is the unique catalog in the group, and the uniqueness starts from the cover in black and white.  Part catalog, part literary journal.  I highly recommend calling them and asking for a copy.  Their website is fedcoseeds.com.

I spent some time writing my garden resolutions for this year, and since then have come up with a few ideas.

The first list of resolutions for the 2012 garden

Reducing waste and improving succession gardening have been goals the past couple of years.  I haven’t felt like I achieved them so I keep putting them on my list.  I also want to use black plastic mulch this summer. I found a product that is biodegradable after a month or two.  Plastic mulch warms the soil, helps with weed control, and decreases diseases.  To make sure the plants under the plastic get enough water I am going to add more drip hose, another resolution, add the use of drip hose irrigation.

This week I need to plan the garden and inventory my seed collection. Have you planned your garden yet? Do you have a favorite seed catalog?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

 

2 responses to “Catalog Your Resolutions

  1. I ordered from D. Landreth Seed Company because I had read they were almost going out of business, and they are the oldest seed company in America (since 1784), selling to numerous US Presidents. They, too, have a beautiful catalog, but I’d love to see Fedco’s – it looks fascinating. So, seeds are ordered, but I need to prepare the vegetable plot. I’ll be interested in knowing how your biodegradable black plastic works out. My husband has been talking about this product, but I think we’ve decided to go a different way for now.

  2. Will share your garden adventure with my Quaker community. We raise food for the local food bank. Have a warm winter

Leave a Reply

