Growing Toward The Light

Quickly, the pace is starting to change around the micro farm.  All the tomato seedlings came up this past week.  I was surprised to see them all come up, because one four pack is planted with seeds that are at least three years old. So what ever comes up is a pleasant surprise.  The purple tomatillos came up, but the green tomatillos did not, so I planted additional seeds in case the first batch were duds.  This morning when I went to inspect everything I noticed a number of the peppers had popped up, and there were several that will be ready in the next day or two.  I was particularly glad to see the peppers up, because last year I struggled to get the seeds to germinate.

Pepper seedlings up and almost up (green dot left side of picture)

With the tomatoes and tomatillos up and growing strong I decided to plant some more seeds. I planted a nine pack of celery, a four pack of rosemary, three; six packs of onions, and several packs of marigolds.  I am trying onions from seeds again, I did not have good luck last time.

The Onion and Celery seeds planted

I will also purchase  onion sets, I like the variety and consistency of sets.  It is also hard to plant enough seeds to meet my onion goals for next year.

To accommodate all the new seed packs I moved the tomatoes and tomatillos to a new carrier and closer to the light.  The light should be no more than an inch above the seedlings.  If they are farther away they can get stringy.

The Tomatoes and Tomatillos Getting Closer to the Light

I have been heating the plants with a space heater during the day.  At night I have been turning it off at night for safety.

The seedling tower, notice the buckets holding everything up

To help heat the seed packets overnight, I am going to fill the buckets with water. During the time the heater is on the water will absorb the heat. When the heater is turned off the water will give off the heat.

One of my goals for this year is to build a roadside stand to sell extra vegetables. I was able to start this weekend.

The Roadside Stand. Top Right - Removable Glass Bottom Left - Half-Lap Joints for Strength Bottom Right Front and Bottom Legs

The stand will face north where a lot of our weather comes from, and the glass will be removable to protect produce from the rain and wind.

Can you feel the pace picking up? I hope you are enjoying the pace picking up in your garden.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

9 thoughts on “Growing Toward The Light

  1. Your garden certainly is on its way! Looks like you’ll have a lot of good produce to sell at the stand! The water jug ides sure is a good one – I’ve done that for plants outside but never thought to do it as a way to keep seedlings warm.

    1. I got the idea from it being used outside. With all this crazy weather we will see what the spring and summer bring us, and how that leads to the amount of food!

  2. It’s so great to see your seedlings popping up! I haven’t started tomato seedlings yet. I want to grow tomatillos again, but not as many plants as I did last year. That’s such a great idea about building a roadside stand. I hope it does well.!

    1. I have high hopes for the roadside stand. I love making tomatillo salsa with tomatillos. What do you use them for/with? I have tried reducing my tomatillo plants for the past couple of years, they are very productive.

  3. Well….I didn’t do a whole lot with my tomatillos other than make salsa, which is why I decided to only grow one or two plants this year. I felt bad having all these tomatillos and not really doing much with them! Actually, what I started doing last fall (when I started this challenge to eat one local meal/week) was just chopping them into omelets or ground beef for texture and flavor since I suddenly found my list of potential ingredients very limited.

Leave a Reply

