Cold Weather Crops In The Soil

Spring has officially arrived with my first stop at our local ice cream shop.  A hot fudge sundae with vanilla ice cream in case you were wondering.

Saturday I started planting the garden.  I put in two rows of peas.

There is a row of peas on each side of the pallet.

I will plant another two rows next week. Hopefully, I will have several weeks of fresh peas.

I also planted red, yellow, and white onion sets.  Following my  plan there are three rows of onions at “the bottom” of the garden.  I measured out a foot and planted a couple of rows.

I use string to help me follow the plan.
I planted each onion about three to four inches apart or the width of my hand.

The garden plan calls for onions on two sides, so I used on side to plant four feet of shallots.  I am new to growing shallots so it will be interesting to see how they do.

Today, I spent the afternoon working with my seedlings under the grow lights.  I over seeded the celery thinking fewer seeds would sprout.  Today I was able to separate them and put each plant into its own space.

I went from one packet of celery to three.

The tomatoes have been growing really well.  One pack was particularly tight so I transplanted most of the plants into individual containers.  Tomorrow I will pick up some more potting soil so I can transplant the rest of the pack.

The tomato pack on the right and one of the individual plants on the left. They are getting big.

There is a mystery plant growing in the garden.  While planting onion sets I dug one up to see if I could identify it.  I have no idea what it is.  Do you?

Left, what the plant looks like about ground. Right, what I found when I dug it up.

If you have any ideas I would appreciate them.  I hope you are able to get out and enjoy some Spring weather.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

One thought on “Cold Weather Crops In The Soil

Leave a Reply

