Harvest Thyme

Thanks to David and some other readers’ advice I saw the radishes were ready to be pulled.

My first radish harvest

A few of them were split, I think the inconsistent rain and watering split the bulbs as they were growing.  I look forward to eating these this week. There are another section of radishes started later so the comparison will be interesting.

This week was full of new crops at the Cohocton River Rock Micro Farm.  Rutabagas replaced the harvested radishes.  Radishes do not like the warmer weather, and the rutabagas take about 100 days to grow and will taste better after a few frosts.  I finally was able to get the potatoes into their buckets.

The potatoes are in the buckets.

I am using the buckets to see how the potatoes do.  If insects come I can protect the plants with netting.  Hopefully I can address issues one-on-one this way.  I have additional soil to put into the buckets to “hill” the plants.  I will continue to update the potatoes progress.  Celery is the last new crop of this year.  Looking at the weather forecast I put them in on Saturday so they would be able to settle in with plenty of rain.

The transplanted celery plants with straw mulch

I am looking forward to learning how these new crops work at the Micro Farm.  I always learn a ton the first year.

I noticed several areas of new growth around the Micro Farm this week. The popcorn I planted last week has started to push up through the black plastic mulch.

The young popcorn popping up

Sometime during the week the peas developed pods.  They seemed to just appear.

The new pea pods. A lovely surprise

The rain we have had and will be getting should help these peas to plump up.  The garlic scapes started to appear last week.  Early this week I will grab a pair of scissors and cut these off.  If you do not cut the scapes off they will turn into seeds.  If it is allowed to go to seed the garlic will not bulb out.  As I walked past the herb garden I heard the buzzing of bees.  Looking around I noticed the thyme was flowers.  Such small and elegant flowers.

Beautiful thyme in bloom

The middle of last week several storms rolled through the area.  A couple were strong and produced high winds.  The tomatillos have been growing stronger, but  were too leggy to stay standing up after the wind.  They really aren’t tall enough yet to be strung up with the Florida Weave.  After watching them struggle a couple of days I knew I needed to get them off the ground.  So I went ahead and strung them up.

Several angles of how the tomatillos are strung up using the Florida Weave.

I used two strands of bailing twine from my straw bales.  I will be watching these plants carefully this week.  Hopefully, I did everything correctly with the weave.

The weather forecast looks wet and cool this next week.  If the forecast is correct I will be trying to stay out of the Micro Farm until things dry out a little.  When the plants are wet and cool it is easy for me to spread disease from plant to plant.  Also I do not want to compact the soil around the plants.

Looking ahead when the sun and heat come back I think the plants will take off. How is your garden looking?  What are you trying new this year?  Do you have a favorite recipe for early garden veggies?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

4 responses to “Harvest Thyme

  1. Looking good Spencer, just starting to pull some radishes here. Do you have drain holes in the potato buckets?

  2. stunning looking thyme…

Leave a Reply

