Ends and Beginnings

Can you tell me where August went?  I find it difficult to believe next Sunday is September.  This past week was really a wonderful weather week.  Warm days, cool at night.  The sky has been gorgeous.

Working on the Micro Farm on weeks like these is no work at all.  Just a wonderful excuse to be outside.  I accomplished several projects this week.

My beefsteak tomatoes were struck and quickly consumed by a pathogen.  My “expert” diagnosis is late blight, but that has not been confirmed.

Could be Late Blight or another pathogen.

I had several hours and I pulled all the plants and burned them in my fire ring.  If you have blighted tomatoes like this either burn them or bag them up and put them into the trash.

The tomatoes were here, not it feels like there is a big hole there

Never compost these, the pathogens will hang out and already be in your garden next year.  Also make sure your wash your hands and tools to kill anything that might be on them.  You can spread diseases faster than any other animal in the garden if you are not careful.

The second big project was thinning the red raspberries.  The canes that grew fruit this year have become very stiff and the leaves turned yellow.  They also appeared to have a “bark” on the outside not the typical green skin of the younger canes.  There are several shorter canes that I have to decided to either keep or prune.

I pruned out the old canes and trellised the new canes. The short canes may be pruned, maybe not. I will have to decide.

Several crops around the Micro Farm are doing well.

I have a few pumpkins this year. This is one of the largest this year. It just started to turn yellow this week.

I have four rows of celery this year. They are doing well, and I look forward to tasting these.

The yellow raspberries are ripe this week. Not as sweet as last year, which is ok according to my taste.

I pulled another potato plant this week. There were only a few green leaves left on the plant.

I started reading Eliot Coleman’s Four-Season Harvest this week.  It has inspired me to be planting a Fall crop that can be harvested during the cold weather.  As I continue to read I will share what I learn, but so far it has me thinking.

Have you thought about growing and/or harvesting in the Winter?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

2 responses to “Ends and Beginnings

  1. Too bad about the tomatoes. That’s unfortunate. The celery looks really good!

  2. I am so sorry about the tomatoes. I lost my whole tomato crop a few years back to late blight. It infects the plants so fast. It was very upsetting to pull all the plants and bag them up. The pathogen that causes late blight requires living host plant tissue to survive so once the plant is dead, the pathogen is dead. You don’t need to worry about spores surviving in your soil overwinter. Although it can overwinter in potato tubers left in the ground.

Leave a Reply

