Insects and Experiments

One headline this past week was the, almost, inch and a half of rain we received.  With the cooler temperatures everything is turning green again. Most of my lawn has returned from its brown, dormant stage an encouraging sign.

My heirloom tomatoes continue to produce, but are showing more signs of late blight.  If things get too bad I will harvest all the tomatoes and let the green ones ripen on the counter.

In a newsletter sent out by my local Cooperative Extension office I learned about a new fruit fly attacking healthy fruit.  The  Spotted Wing Drosophila (Drosophila suzukii) is new to this area, and is really making its presence known.  If you would like to learn more about it check out this link.

These are healthy raspberries I picked today.

These were raspberries picked at the same time. You can see how they damaged by the insects.

The pumpkins keep rolling along.  If you look at one end of the vine it appears yellow, brown, and unhealthy.  The other end looks green and lush.  I love how pumpkins keep producing until the hardest of frosts.

I have several very small pumpkins, like this, on the vine.

It felt very odd, but I did some planting last week.  I planted another crop of peas.

I have another row of peas coming up. They came up very quickly.

After the rain on Saturday a few seeds, like this one, were washed to the soil surface.

I also planted carrots, basil, and two types of cabbage in my cold frame.  The carrots and cabbage are early varieties so they should be in good shape before the snow flies.  I will harvest the basil as it comes.

In my former cucumber row I planted the rest of the basil.  More cabbage. In the final section I planted scallions or bunching onions.

Do you think these will turn out well?

This planting is a bit of gamble, but I am guessing that I will have at least 60 days of warm weather.  Other than the basil, these crops can hold up to a frost as well.

I hope you are enjoying these early Fall days.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

One response to “Insects and Experiments

  1. 60 days till frost? I’m guessing we only have about 30. I’m interested to see how your late plantings do!

Leave a Reply

