Frost and Harvest

The kitchen was filled with the wonderful smell of celery this week. I harvested two rows or about half of the celery.

Half of this year’s celery. Not bad for the first time growing it.

I use most of my celery in soups or stews so I decided freezing it was the best way to preserve it.  If you have any other ideas, let me know I would appreciate your input.  I still have a couple more rows to harvest.

We were hit by a hard frost on Friday night and Saturday morning.  A low of 21 degrees Fahrenheit was reported.  All I know is that it was really cold.  I went out and picked the peppers that survived.

I was glad to catch a picture before they went into the freezer.

The frost also took out the tomatillos, the pumpkins, and many of the wild flowers.  I cut down the cornstalks and cleaned out the dead plants.  The beds look barren.

The Circle Garden looking empty.
The Square Garden looks a little less barren but a big change from a week ago.

There are still patches of green around the Micro Farm.  The carrots, parsnips, and celery are still bright green.  In one of the side beds bunching onions, carrots, and cabbages are still going strong.  I really like having something growing in the garden.

With continued good weather these should be eatable in a few weeks.

Earlier in the week I was able to get some time to rake.  The pine tree has been producing lots of needles. The blueberries will get their annual over of needles for winter protection. I was also able to rake some leaves on the tarps covering the new beds.

One pile of pine needles.

Cornstalks are still for sale.   You can pick up five stalks for $3 or ten stalks for $5. They make excellent Fall decorations!

Cornstalks
A picture of my front porch. This is a group of about five.

 

Send me and email or call if you want to place an order.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

2 thoughts on “Frost and Harvest

  1. You could also dehydrate the celery. It takes little space and isn’t dependant on electricity for storage. A post on celery start to finish would be good. I’ve never tried it and could use some pointers!

Leave a Reply

