Clean Up and Transplant Experiment

On this Veterans’ Day thank you to those how have served, and their families, our country.  Your choice of service and sacrifice is greatly appreciated.

I was able to get more cleaning done in the garden beds.  The temperatures were warm so it was a real joy being in the garden and outside.  One major goal was to  pull out the root stocks of the corn and celery.  I will need the space to start garlic in the next week.

While digging the celery roots I was really impressed how well they had developed.

This celery was one of the larger. The shovel is a typical spade shovel from a home center.

I picked up any other plant debris that I saw.  Keeping the garden clean helps limit disease or insects that  might over winter in the soil or plant debris.  With all my cleaning  the compost bins are filled to the brim.

The Micro Farm cleaned up and ready for Winter, mostly.

While in the garden I harvested several bunches of Flat Italian Parsley.  I noticed a few plants had what appeared to be new growth near the center of the plant.  Wasting the new growth seemed wrong.  So I transplanted to plants into pots to see if I can keep them going over the Winter.

I trimmed the one on the left more than the plant on the right. I will be curious to see if the extra leaves help or hurt the transplants.

Parsley is biennial so I think it will work, but we will see.  I may try putting them in the cold frames to see how well they do out there.

I found a couple of thermometers in the basement this weekend and I put them in the cold frames.  The temperatures in the cold frames have piqued my curiosity.

The insect damage to the cabbage happened before I put the cold frame on. The newer growth is not damaged. The thermometer is in the upper right corner.

Several mornings the insides have been fogged up, and that is what started my curiosity.  So hopefully the thermometers will give me an idea of the temperature differences.

In Robert Rodale’s book Our Next Frontier Rodale says “I think we will see the size of gardens increase, so that the distinction between a large garden and a small farm will become blurred.”   This book was published in 1981.  My hope is that Cohocton River Rock Micro Farm is and embodiment of this idea.

If you are wanting to start a garden start small, a window box is a good start.  Then start to blur the lines.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

One thought on “Clean Up and Transplant Experiment

Leave a Reply

