Good Eating

So the turkey I bought for Thanksgiving may have been a bit large.  Twenty-five pounds feeds a lot of people or a few people until they hate turkey.  We had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  We ate onions, carrots, and parsnips from the Micro Farm.  Our squash and potatoes came from local farms.  I made an apple pie from local apples and a pumpkin pie from my pie pumpkins. Only the sweet potatoes came from the grocery store.  Overall, everything was delicious and we are still enjoying everything. Early in the preparation I thought about taking pictures.  Taking pictures never really happened, preparations took over…oh well.

With all the left over turkey I am going to make turkey pies. I like to add carrots, peas, corn, and potatoes in my pot pies.  I froze corn and peas earlier this year so I will use those.  I still have a few local potatoes left over and they will work well.  I picked a few carrots this afternoon.

Carrots picked for pot pie

The ground will be freezing soon.  I will be watching temperatures and the ground to make sure I can harvest what I want before it freezes.

I hope you had a wonderful and safe Thanksgiving.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

One thought on “Good Eating

Leave a Reply

