Un-met Expectations

After a couple of days of high expectations and a small amount of snow.  We had a gorgeous day of sunny and warm temperatures.  I went out to check on the garden and the cold frames.

Feeling the warmth of the sun on a wintry day was very warming.

Sun setting over the pea trellis and the garlic beds.

I have been keeping an especially close eye on the garlic this year.  You may remember I did not get them covered with straw, which is good practice.  A few weeks later,  I was able to get a couple of inches of pine needles over the garlic.  Fortunately, there has been several inches of snow during the coldest of days.  Hopefully, with the snow and the pine needles the garlic will come up strong this spring.

My inspection of the cold frames was a bit disappointing.  A number of my young, red cabbages looked frost-bitten.

The garden cold frame bad-looking cabbage. Ugh.

I am growing both red and green cabbage in the cold frames.  The red looks worse than the green.  I am not sure at this point if they are dead or just “mostly” dead.  We have a weak of above freezing temperatures and that should find out if they can bounce back or not.

The cold frame on the back porch the red cabbages look healthier, but still hit hard by the recent cold.

The back porch cold frame.

The green cabbages appear to be doing well.  I recent purchased a mini-green cabbage at the grocery store.  It was tasty, but had some tough points.  Typically, “harder” vegetables store longer.  I think this variety of green cabbage stores well and probably holds up to cold weather a bit better as well.

As I continue to think towards the business of spring I am trying to make sure I accomplish winter tasks and not leaving them to spring.  I have been neglecting my seed order, and I plan to get that done this week.  What is still on your winter to-do list?  What have you accomplished this winter?  Do you have a favorite winter task?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

2 thoughts on “Un-met Expectations

Leave a Reply

