Young History

Year to year my memory fails me.  I was trying to remember what March 2012 was like.  Am I behind or ahead of last year?  I took a look back at my post from last year, and everything is different this year.  A year ago we had significant warm stretch and then a cold snap that really effected the growth, especially fruit trees.  So far I think we are following a more traditional pattern of weather.

While plants outside are growing slowly, the seedlings inside are growing strong.

Onions

In the foreground the onions planted on Feb 18th.

Peppers

Pepper seedlings planted on Feb. 18th.

Pepper have a longer germination period.  There are several sprouts in on “cell” so I will need to split them, but I will wait until the get a little bigger and stronger.

Celery

Celery seedlings planted on Feb 18th.

The celery is tilting to the fluorescent light.  I turn them around so they are not permanently tilted.

Heirloom Tomatoes

Tomato seedlings planted on Feb 18th.

The tomatoes are doing well, and a couple of plants have their first “true” leaves.  [True leaves come after the first two leaves have a different appearance and look more “true” to the leaves ]

I was very excited to receive my second seed delivery of the year.  For the first time I order seeds from the Medomak Valley High School Heirloom Seed Project.  I am a MVHS graduate and am very proud of their seed program.

Heirloom Seeds

The seed packets.

Every plant variety has a history.  They not only perpetuate the plant variety but its heritage.  The rutabaga seeds pictured above  came from the “Cambridge”  shipwrecked on Old Man Ledge Feb 10, 1886 and has been a Maine heirloom for many generations.  I look forward to participating in this varieties long history.

I hope you will join me in participating in the old tradition of growing food this year.  If you have not grown food before start with a small patch of lettuce, another green or herbs inside.  Once you start with your own I think you find it difficult to not try growing a few more plants.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

2 responses to “Young History

  1. gastrogardener

    Yep, the weather here seems a bit more normal than last year. Your starts are looking good, so far no germination here. That’s a really neat story behind the seeds!

  2. Did you know that Elmira College had (has?) an herbarium in the basement of Carnegie? I took World of Plants with Dr. Kass for my science requirement — learned a lot!

Leave a Reply

