Colors Abound

Almost two inches of rain fell last week.  Yet today, the soil was dry and I needed to water everything.  The hot and humid days and nights with less than average rainfall in June everything has dried out quickly.

Today was a busy day weeding, and there is more to do.  It was good to spend a few hours in the beds today.

There is lots of color around the garden is lovely.

The dedicated wildflower garden
The dedicated wildflower garden
The flowers on the edge of the garden beds
The flowers on the edge of the garden beds

Several of the vegetable plants are starting to flower as well.

The dry beans' flower
The dry beans’ flower
Cucumber flowers
Cucumber flowers

It is very exciting to see these plants flowering.  It does mean I need to be thinking about canning and preserving the fruits.

Tomatoes! Pruden Purple is always early
Tomatoes! Prudens Purple is always early

I first noticed these tomatoes today.  I am very behind in my tomato maintainance.  This I week I need to get them stacked up.

Both the red and black raspberries are in season.  Harvesting will be daily for a while.
Both the red and black raspberries are in season. Harvesting will be daily for a while.

I have enough work to keep me busy this week.  What are you busy with in your garden?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

3 thoughts on “Colors Abound

  1. Love those windflowers, Beautiful! Berries also look awesome…been. Weeding as they have loved this heat and just got some rain in last couple of days! arugula and leaf lettuces are needing to be picked! MOM!!!!

  2. We had a very wet June, and now it’s quite hot and humid. Everything looks very good there! I wish I had berries.

Leave a Reply

