Harvest Here, Harvest There

Another transition has been reached at the Micro-farm.  Much less weeding and more of a focus on harvesting.  Two big harvests happened this week.

Friends have been giving us beets to pickle the past few years.  I was at a workshop and learned about a variety of beets named “Cylindra” that grows long but not round.  For canning a thinner and less round beet is easier to use.

Mrs. M holding some of the best

Mrs. M holding some of the best beets

The complete beet harvest

The complete beet harvest

We were able to can over nine pints of pickled beets and still had enough to share with neighbors.

The second harvest this week was potatoes.  I was surprised to be picking potatoes, it feels a bit early.  However, the leaves were yellowing some brown and shriveled.  The leaf area had decreased greatly.  I was worrying I something might happen to the potatoes if I did not harvest them.

About twenty pound of potatoes from two pounds of seed potatoe

About twenty pound of potatoes from two pounds of seed potatoes

I think they look really good.  After frying a few up for supper they taste really good too.

Several crops are getting closer to harvest.

Lots of green peppers

Lots of green peppers – two nice bells in the middle           click to enlarge

The peppers have been doing very well this year.  The plants are vigorous and there are lots of flowers.  Many are top-heavy and needed to be staked up.

The popcorn is beginning to tassel.  Ears will be forming soon.

Popcorn tassles

Popcorn tassels

I did not do well providing support for my tomatoes.  Regardless, they are doing well despite me.

My first "reddish" tomato

My first “reddish” tomato

The last bit of work done around the Micro-farm this week was on the raspberry bushes.  The canes that produced fruit earlier this year have turned brown and many of the leaves have died.  So I cut out the old canes to allow the plants to feed only the new canes.  Additionally, on the black raspberries I “tipped” them in hopes they will creat more lateral growth.  Black raspberries clone themselves by growing long canes then the canes lean over and when they touch soil they will send out roots.  Then a new plant is formed.  If I tip them then they will put more energy into fruit production, at least that is the plan.

Tipped black raspberry canes

Tipped black raspberry canes

As you can see it has been busy around the Micro-farm.  I hope you are busy with your garden as well.  I hope you are enjoy the fruits of your labor.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

6 responses to “Harvest Here, Harvest There

  1. Great beet and potato harvest. I can see how the Cylindra beet shape would lead itself to easier processing and canning. The potatoes I grow are ready when they are ready and don’t seem to hold to their “Early” or “Late” labels. When the foliage dies back they are finished. Sometimes it is earlier in the season than others. I like to leave them in the ground so the skins toughen up, but doing so placed them at risk of pests eating the tubers.

  2. gastrogardener

    Excellent harvests Spencer! I’ve grown Cylindra but have never seen such specimens as those! Great work!

  3. Those beets are amazing, absolutely gigantic in the photo. I am envious of your potatoes. We have tried different ways of growing them without success.

Leave a Reply

