Green to Red. Red Means Go

Mid-July I had received an email informing me late blight was in the area. (You can read the post here.) I decided not to use spray on my tomatoes.  In last week’s post I showed how the blight had killed most of my tomato plants.  On Monday night we picked all the tomatoes, ripe or not.  Regardless of the blight I think it was a successful tomato harvest.

Tomatoes just picked

Tomatoes just picked

Tomatoes almost a week later

Tomatoes almost a week later

Can see a difference in the two pictures?  You may notice a few tomatoes missing because we have been using them.  Mostly, we have been canning this week.  We made ketchup, Swedish Chili Sauce, and salsa.

Some of you canned products from the past week.

Some of you canned products from the past week.

I grew all heirloom varieties this year, and was impressed with their production.  One new variety I grew was Mr. Razz.

A Mr. Razz Tomato

Mr. Razz Tomatoes

Knowing little about these I was excited to see what the fruit would look like.  My opinion is that it would make a very nice market tomato.  It is medium-sized with a wonderful shape and flavor.

Last year’s big producer proved prudent again this year.

A Pruden's Purple Tomato

A Pruden’s Purple Tomato

This is its ripe color.  Not a deep red or purple just a faint, mellow color.  These are really big tomatoes, typically about half or three-quarters of a pound.

All the heirloom tomatoes are meaty and are excellent for how we use them.  I think both Mr. Razz and Pruden’s Purple would be great for slicing.

I am glad I picked all the tomatoes.  I am not sure I can handle more tomatoes than we already have.

My volunteer sunflower is now facing down.  Taking pictures today I notice someone has been enjoying the sunflower seeds.

Suspect sunflower seed shells

Suspect sunflower seed shells

Whoever has been eating my seeds certainly has done a good job.

Half the seeds. Gone.

Half the seeds. Gone.

This evening I will cut off the flower so I can enjoy a few of the seeds myself.

Tomatillos in their husks

Tomatillos in their husks

Mostly neglected this year have been my tomatillos.  They require very little attention and are very productive.  Inside their husk is their tasty fruit.  I gently squeeze the husk to find out what size the fruit is inside.  After I get enough, a delicious spicy salsa will be made.

Back porch basil

Back porch basil

Thinking about all the tomatoes spurred me to start some basil on the back porch.  It looks really good so far.  My plan is to try to keep the basil going as long as I can.  I will probably bring it inside when the nights get too cold.  I also have some cilantro and thyme started as well.  The thyme seeds were several years old and have not germinated well.  The cilantro is on the second planting which is going much better than the first.

What do you do to preserve your bounty?  What do you grow in excessive amounts?  What did you enjoy eating at your Labor Day picnic?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

One response to “Green to Red. Red Means Go

  1. Picking tomatoes here too. And pretty sure we’ve got blight as well. Doing some canning and pickling. I think 80+ lbs of cucumbers may qualify as excessive amounts but it is only three plants!

Leave a Reply

