Cucumbers to Pickles and Beans to Beans

Dramatic temperature swings were the story last week.  While the temperatures dominated conversations regionally, more locally our neighbors have been talking about a lightning strike.  Two of our neighbors lost electronics in their homes on Wednesday.  Fortunately, we had no damage at our house.  After piecing a timeline together I realize I had been outside the back door when the lightning had struck.  A bit scary to think about.

At long last the cucumber processing is winding down.  This is the third of three batches of dill pickles.  This week we will can a batch or two of sweet pickles and be done.

Finished dill pickles

Finished dill pickles

I finished cleaning up the onions this afternoon.  I cleaned off any mud and outer layers of onion skin.  I also clipped off any remaining onion leaves.

My small onion harvest

My small onion harvest

I had hoped for a larger harvest this year.  I did a poor job with my onion seedlings.  Along with not starting them well, putting them in the ground to early along with some hot and dry weather the seedlings withered.  Lessons learned for next year.

The bean harvest today

The bean harvest today

Today I pulled all the dry beans.  I think last week would have been better.  Some of them were dry and last week when it rained they absorbed some of the water.

The process was easy enough, but time-consuming.

I pulle the pods off the plants

I pulle the pods off the plants

Then I shelled the beans.  These are called Lewiston Two-Dot

Then I shelled the beans. These are named         Lewiston Two-Dot

These are the second bean I planted.  A slightly smaller white bean

These are the second bean I planted. A slightly smaller white bean

These beans are a bit green.  Hopefully they will dry a bit

These beans are a bit green. Hopefully they will dry a bit

The Micro-farm growing beds need some attention.  The weeds have really taken over.  Hopefully, this week I will be able to get out into them and pull the weeds.  With more moderate temperatures and sunny weather it should be fun to get outside and work.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

2 responses to “Cucumbers to Pickles and Beans to Beans

  1. We haven’t pickled cucumbers in a couple of years, but one year had enough of our own cukes to do sweets from Grandma’s recipe. What do you do to keep your dills crisp??

Leave a Reply

