Thyme for Pumpkins and Berries

Glorious Fall weather has been the dominate story this week.  My list of projects around the Micro-Farm is not as short as it should be this time of year.  I am thankful for the weather to be able to make up work.

The first pumpkin picked this year

The first pumpkin picked this year

One of my favorite parts of Fall are the second crop of raspberries.  They have wonderful shape and size.  Here at the Cohocton River Rock Micro Farm the second crop of raspberries do not have the heat and rain issues of Spring raspberries.

Fall red raspberries

Fall red raspberries

Fall Yellow Raspberries

Fall Yellow Raspberries

One of the Summer crops is still going strong.  These carrots were planted in as a second planting, but are doing well. I am hoping the frost hits them so they will sweeten up a bit more.

My final row of carrots.  I think they may be out of control

My final row of carrots. I think they may be out of control

The herb bed has been neglected a bit this year.  However, today I clipped a bunch of thyme and oregano.  My stores have become low and I need to replace them.

A few thyme leaves

A few thyme leaves

A few bunches of orgeano

A few bunches of orgeano

With the warm and dry temperatures of the next few days I will let them dry on a screen in the garage.  If they are not dried in the next couple of days I will put them into the dehydrator. Then I crush the leaves and store them in old Mason jars.

After several days of dry weather I took a few seconds and scooped up the dry beans into Mason jars.

The dry beans new home.

The dry beans new home.

Almost two pints of beans from about 12 seeds.  I am always amazed at how a few seeds turns into much more.

I encourage you to step outside and enjoy the weather. It is too good to waste.  Take a few minutes and pick something or clean out a garden bed.  Just make and excuse and go outside.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

4 responses to “Thyme for Pumpkins and Berries

  1. Looks good Spencer – what Kind of pumpkin is that? Stuck up here on the 24th floor wishing I were outdoors.

  2. The weather is in fact beautiful but exceedingly dry for late September. Jealous of your produce.

Leave a Reply

