Raking in the Peppers

Technically, it is Fall.  Walking outside the only indication its Fall are the leaves and needles falling off the trees.

The result of our raking tonight.
The result of our raking tonight. The green you see was covered in needles.

 

We banked the needles against a planter
We banked the needles against a planter

I will use the needles to mulch the garlic for the winter.  Any other plants that are over-wintered will be banked with needles.  Occasionally in October I need to start mulching the over-winter plants because of the cold temperatures.  This year the temperatures are far to hot.  On Sunday evening as I write this it is still in the 70’s.  Strange weather for October for sure.

One additional benefit of this warm weather has been terrific pepper production.

One small harvest of peppers
One small harvest of peppers

The slightly red pepper in the middle is now bright red.  My neighbor and I were talking and after his many years of gardening he said he is growing his largest peppers ever.  I would have to concur.  The weather is allowing my peppers to grow to a great size and some even get a chance to turn red.

With so many peppers I have been slicing them and storing them freezer bags.  I know they will be a welcome delight in the cold months (if the ever get here).

The “extra” growing season has allowed me to waste less vegetables.  Often when the crops come at the same time and then a frost hits and I have to harvest all remaining produce.  With extended warm days I am able to pick my harvest times with more flexibility.

Do you have a similar harvest flexibility?  Are you under snow?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

One thought on “Raking in the Peppers

Leave a Reply

