Mulching Fun

Today was one of those days when I put off going into the garden, but once I get there I wondered what took me so long.  This time of year working around the Micro Farm means at least a sweater and always a winter hat.  Looking ahead at the weather forecast we will be having several nights in the 20’s.  I thought it would be good to mulch the young or tender plants.

Last week I planted a row of garlic.  The final step to prepare them for the winter is to cover them in several inches of mulch cover.  Fortunately, the pine tree in our yard provided plenty of material for mulch.

The pine needle provider

The pine needle provider

The garlic bed before.

The garlic bed before.

The strawberry patch before.

The strawberry patch before.

Using the pitchfork I put about six to eight inches of needles over the beds.  My experience has been that the needles will settle down to about two or three inches.

The garlic bed after

The garlic bed after

The strawberry patch after

The strawberry patch after

Blueberries after

Blueberries after

I have two blueberry bushes, that I also mulch, to protect them over the winter.

Other work around the Micro Farm has begun to slow down.  Most of my outside work is preparing for winter and snow.  I still have several projects around the house to do, but my favorite projects are always in the garden.

What are your last-minute projects?  What garden projects do you miss?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

One response to “Mulching Fun

  1. Nice work, I’ve yet to get the garlic in. So crazy around here with kitchen under renovation since Oct 2. unfortunately much of the late season harvest seem destined for the compost pile as i cannot process it.

Leave a Reply

