The Big Three

This is one of my favorite time of the year.  I enjoy going to the mailbox and waiting to find it filled.  This week I received to of my favorite seed catalogs.

The big three.
The big three. Left – Seed Savers;                                  Middle – Fedco;   Right – Johnny’s

My favorite three catalogs have trickled in over the past couple of weeks.  I have only had a few minutes to glance through each catalog.  I enjoy these catalogs because they are more than just pictures and prices.  They have lots of valuable or interesting information.

Seed Savers –

Here is an example of what you find inside
Here is an example of what you find inside

To support their mission to save seed varieties. Inside there are growing tips and planting instructions.  They also share stories about how the varieties were acquired or brought to the United States.

Fedco –

Inside the Fedco catalog.
Inside the Fedco catalog.

Fedco is probably the most interesting seed catalog I receive.  They include political opinion, random quips, and general wisdom.  Fedco challenges me, with only pencil pictures and everything in black and white.  I have to use my imagination, and sometimes I imagine in the wrong direction.

Johnny’s –

The inside of the Johnny's Selected Seeds catalog
The inside of the Johnny’s Selected Seeds catalog

Johnny’s has great pictures and information.  They have a wonderful amount of varieties.  Johnny’s is my standby.  I know whatever I order from them will be successful.  They may be a bit more pricey, but they are definitely quality.

Do you have a favorite seed catalog?  Which one do you enjoy reading?

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

 

2 thoughts on “The Big Three

  1. Seems like in remembering way in the olden days seed catalogs arrived well after the new year to allow farmers to peruse during down time…fun to get them now before the tax forms!!! Love ya, MOM

    Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

Leave a Reply

