Back for 2014

Sometimes getting back on the bicycle is harder than you would imagine.   I took a break from almost three years of weekly blogging just before Christmas.  I vowed several times to get back to it, and I found convenient excuses to start again. Over the past weeks there have been to many events and special occasion to recall them all. So I will go forward.

Looking at the calendar got my micro-farm juices flowing.  New ideas and goals have been thought about, occasionally thinking them through fully, and plans have been developed.  I am interested to see what will come to fruition. I will share those plans later as they develop. I am a bit nervous they will fail, and prefer to share potential (or actual) failure on my own terms.

I would like to share with you one of my winter projects.  I have been co-managing a winter farmer’s market.  You can see our Facebook page here:  Corning Winter Farmer’s Market.  It has been full of challenges.  However, I have been very pleased to see our local farmers doing well.

The most significant story around the micro-farm has been the weather.  I know for most of you in the US it’s the same story.

Where we are right now. Lots of snow
Where we are now. Lots of snow
More snow, and more cold
More snow, and more cold
And, more glorious winter weather
And, more glorious winter weather

While we have weeks of cold and snowy weather.  And. I think spring will never come.

We have a few very warm days and the snow melts.

Random days when the snow melts.
Random days when the snow melts.
The grass may not be green, but we see it every so often
The grass may not be green, but we see it every so often

We appear to be caught in a another bought of cold and snow.  I am amazed at how warm 40 degrees Fahrenheit in the Sun feels.  When the cold gets me down I do try to remember it is killing all those bugs and plants that do not belong here in the Northeast USA.  So I look forward to a few less bugs this spring.

So here I sit and I am learning from the past, enjoying this season, and looking forward to the next season.

I hope all is well with you and yours.

Leave a Reply

