Spencer: Crime Scene Photographer

Two weeks later I got outside and finished trellising the red raspberries.  Everyone looks good for spring.

Red raspberries trellised and trimmed.

Red raspberries trellised and trimmed.

DSC08433

A fairly good “V” shape

After I finished working the red raspberries I checked on the black raspberries to see if they remained attached to the wire.  Again this year I found rabbit pellets and even a urine mark.  But what I found next put me in an Elmer Fudd kind of mood.  Beware the picture below is graphic, well not really, but I was not happy.

The scene of the crime.  If you look in the lower part of the picture you can see the black raspberry victims

The scene of the crime. If you look in the lower part of the picture you can see the black raspberry victims

The rabbit(s?) have chewed off several of the small black raspberry canes.  You can see why I almost went for my big, floppy hat and gun.  I will continue to observe and protect.  More action may be needed.  Fortunately, my neighbors recently brought home a kitten.  Over the past couple of months he has grown considerably, and really enjoys attacking my leg from behind.  He is very aware of the rabbits hiding places and works hard to find them.  So I now have a partner in my mission.

My neighbor's cat ready to pounce...on me.

My neighbor’s cat ready to pounce…on me.

I took some winter pictures around the micro farm, because the snow will all be gone in the next day or so.  Several days of above freezing temperatures will melt the little snow we had away.

The rocks are already showing through the snow.

The rocks are already showing through the snow.

The compost bin that was a month ago above my head has settled down significantly.

A much more reasonable height for a compost bin

A much more reasonable height for a compost bin

The seed catalogs have begun to come in.  It is difficult not to get in over my head in mid-December.  There will be lots of thought, dreaming, and careful planning in the next month.  Then we begin again.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

One response to “Spencer: Crime Scene Photographer

  1. Rabbits can be a scourge. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

