Seeding the Solstice

“I read somewhere…” is a phrase that gets me in trouble regularly.  Typically, I connect two or more thoughts together that are not related.  However, that is how today started.  The weather here has been unseasonably warm and will be getting warmer the next couple of days.  Today is the winter solstice, oh so few hours of daylight today.  I remember reading, somewhere, it is optimal to plant onions on the shortest day of the year to harvest them on the longest day of the year.

Well, I thought I would give it a try.  The frost around the micro farm is barely an inch or two deep.

The meager frost trying to hold on.

The meager frost trying to hold on.

Under this layer the soil was loose and much warmer.  I mixed the two soils together.  I planted two types of onion, Cortland – a storage, yellow onion; and Redwing – a storage, red onion.  I also planted a short row of Lexton leeks.   I have not had good luck with leeks in the past so I wanted to experiment with a few this year.

Cortland seeds ready to be planted.

Cortland seeds ready to be planted.

Over the next few days the temperatures will be better for planting.  I am traveling for Christmas and won’t get time to plant on the warmer days.  The most challenging part of the past two weeks has been the lack of sun.  Our televison weatherman predicted we may not see a sunny sky for another day or more.

To help my seeds adjust to the soil with rain and varying temperatures I added at least two inches of pine needle mulch.  Hopefully the pine needles will act as a buffer as the rain, snow, and crazy temperatures come.

Seeds under their pine needle blanket

Seeds under their pine needle blanket

We are enjoying a slower time around the micro farm.  We here at Cohocton River Rock Micro Farm wish you a merry Christmas.  We hope you have a wonderful and safe holiday.

Enjoy this season, learn from last season, and look forward to next season.

One response to “Seeding the Solstice

  1. Merry Christmas Spencer

Leave a Reply

